Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Universities play an important role in expanding the mind of an individual. Students gain the knowledge required for their respective careers and step into the real world. I think it would be prolific to study courses outside one’s area of study as it makes one more productive intellectually. It would help the students better understand and focus on their own subject. Universities should make it a requirement to pick diverse subjects other than their core ones.

At times, students feel bored and exhausted while studying the same subject for a prolonged time. Having a list of varied subjects on their curriculum would offer a fresh perspective and a break from the quotidian. Moreover, an eclectic course schedule will only extend their area of knowledge. For example, if a student’s principal field of study is Spanish, then going for an optional course of Linguistics would help them understand their subject better and give them a new knowledge base.

Furthermore, being limited to one subject often leads students losing interest in it through the repetitive study of the same. Electing different subject courses, I think would be helpful in maintaining their interest and concentration in their chosen field of interest.

Although this policy might have more advantages than disadvantages, it is important to note that it can result in distracting the students from their main goal (core subjects). Oftentimes, students take optional subjects and become more engrossed in them instead of focusing on their main subjects. This can prove to be harmful in their overall performance. Apart from this, if a student has no interest other than his/her own field, it would be a distraction to study other subjects and might affect their results.

Hence, universities must include this policy but with an exception that the students should not be graded on these extra subjects, as it can prove to affect their performance and results. It should only be put in place to help them expand their knowledge.