A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I believe the given recommendation falls short of considering many points which are vital to the matter at hand. If any nation adopts this measure, then in my opinion, it would very disadvantageous for a majority of people.

Firstly, almost all nations are not homogenous, be it culturally, linguistically, religiously or even socially. As a consequence, requiring students to study the same curriculum nation-wide would result in more harm than good. For instance, in India there are around 30 major recognised languages spoken everywhere and hundreds of more regional dialects in various states. The present curriculum takes language into consideration depending on the area, which facilitates the learning process for students all over the country. But if the above recommendation were to be applied, then it would put many students at a disadvantage.

Secondly, every school has its own curriculum, many a times in accordance with a standard national education board. This helps students and parents alike to choose according to their tailored learning interests. Also, each and every student has different specialties and interests which would necessitate a subject-specific knowledge and skill development before entering into college. If students are made to follow the same curriculum rather than enhancing their subject interests, it would eventually be deleterious to their intended careers. To give an illustration, suppose the curriculum is more focused on Business studies instead of Science, then a student wanting to pursue a career in Science would be placed at a disadvantage and might have lesser chances of getting into a college of their choice.

Furthermore, even if someone were to develop such a curriculum, it wouldn't be able to tend to the needs and subject interests of all students across the nation. This can result in a monotonous and a very banal syllabus which might not cater to students, which in turn can result in students losing interest in studying altogether.

Conversely, although this recommendation is largely fallacious, it can be helpful specifically in promoting homogenity in the learning background of all students, which would lead to a unbiased and fair education of all. Students could take comfort in the fact that they are all staring from the same point without anyone having any undue advantage in college.

In conclusion, I believe that this measure would be very extreme as illustrated by the above arguments. A national curriculum would not be favorable to many students and can result in many disadvantages. Moreover, it would be quite difficult to construct a curriculum that can cater to every students' learning interests.