Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Providing free education to all college and university students has always been a significant issue for the governments of all countries. They strive to dedicate equal opportunities to different people without taking into account their gender, age, religious beliefs, etc. What may come into every one’s mind is that why the government should pay his educational expenses? Does the government serve us with its own budget? If not, what is the source of the funding? Is there any benefit for the government by making education free for all the students? By answering all these questions, I’m going to show both advantages and disadvantages of completely free education for “all” college and university students.

Colleges and universities provide training needed for individuals to enter professional careers. In fact, by acquainting students with complex ideas and insights, they make them more knowledgeable and successful for their future vocations. If the government funds all the students no matter what their age, gender, race, nationality, and religious beliefs are, this will be an extra proof of showing that equality is the ultimate goal of the government. Furthermore, both poor and rich students have an equal opportunity of education. Consequently, parents and specifically people will trust the government and as a result, a more safe and peaceful community will be shaped. An obvious example of fully funded education is the country of France. From elementary schools up to higher education universities are all free for permanent residents of France, and people are really satisfied with the government.

The government is the sole authority for providing free education to students, but we have to concede to the fact that it doesn’t pay us by its own budget. Residents of diverse countries pay taxes annually, and the government use these taxes to give facilities such as transportation at a cheaper cost, free education, free healthcare, etc. This is not a totally free education at all because we pay by our own budget. Additionally, not “all” the students are qualified for free education. If it be free for all, both qualified and unqualified students have the same chance for free education which isn’t fair at all, so we have to take some other factors for granted that will make this issue clear.

One may ask who qualified or unqualified students are. There are so many elements that we have to pay attention to on distinguishing these two groups: First of all, school grades are a major indicator of being talented or exceptional. It shows whether that person has the potential to be successful in his studies or not. Additionally, research background indicates whether that person is ready to dedicate itself to scientific explorations or not. Taking into account these factors help us conclude that only qualified persons with the above-mentioned characteristics should have the opportunity of free education. They will get more out of this chance to progress science in the country they live and even in the world. As an example, let’s consider an élite network of graduate schools, known as the grande écoles in France. Admission to the grandes écoles is limited by special competitive examinations. Founded by Napoleon Bonaparte, these prestigious schools train executives for the highest positions in business and government. Although education is free in France, there exist some rules under which only talented students can study in the most prestigious universities. Moreover, I think that free education should be dedicated to higher education at the level of master and PhD because only individuals interested in research at the academic level pursue higher education and these two groups are most likely to play a significant role in distributing knowledge and scientific research.