The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This statement establishes that the best solution for increasing the number of listeners of WWAC radio station would be to stop playing rock music, and start using a news and talk format. However, further evidence would be needed to prove that this measure would be successful.

First of all, more information about the evolution of the number of listeners in other radio stations should be obtained. It is possible that radio stations have become obsolete, and, hence, people has stopped listening to the radio. An alternative media to listen to music could have flourished during last months, and maybe people prefer to listen to music there. Likewise, it is possible that a new radio station has started to emit, and people might like it more than other stations, leading to a general decline in the number of listeners. As no further evidence about this is presented, we simply do not know. Consequently, a study on the evolution in the number of people who listen to other radio stations should be carried. If a general decrease is observed, this argument would be weakened.

Secondly, the growth in population in the area need not be necessarily correlated to an increase in the number of listeners. People who have moved there in recent years may not have a radio, or might not have listening to the radio as one of their hobbies. Thus, it is plausible that, even if the format of the radio station is changed, no increase in the audience is experienced. A survey on the hobbies of people in the zone, compared with information from epochs during which the number of listeners was greater, may be useful to establish if there is a high enough number of potential listeners to justify this format change.

Thirdly, a decrease in the number of sales of recorded music does not necessarily imply that people are not further interested in music. A steep growth of the prices of CDs could be an alternative explanation that led to a different conclusion from the one reached. As well as this, new emerging online platforms to listen to music could have provoked a change in the paradigm of music consumption. This would lead to a fall in the number of sales of recorded music, but it is highly probable that people continued listening to music. Furthermore, in contrast with the statement, it is also possible that the decrease in the number of sales is related to a preference of the audience to listening to music in the radio rather than in CDs, so the conclusion reached would be absolutely wrong. For these reasons, a survey on the interest of people on listening to music should be carried, to establish if the proposed measure would be successful.

In conclusion, the statement is based on many assumptions that need further evidence to be proved. A study on the number of listeners in other radio stations and a survey that covers the number of people who has as a hobby listening to the radio and their interest in music might be useful to reach a more justified conclusion.