Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

While the slow and steady march of progress is fuelled primarily by breakthroughs in the sciences and their applications, I am firmly of the opinion that governments must maintain some degree of control over what research takes place in a country.

It is easy to anthropomorphise science. It is indeed a very human tendency to do so. And in doing so, we often assign a morality to science on the whole or certain sciences. Things like genetic research and nuclear technology are frowned upon by many, while electric vehicles, for example are largely looked upon positively by most. The truth is technology is morally neutral. Genetic research could help eliminate all congenital diseases and improve crop yield, while nuclear technology is an excellent source of clean, green energy if used wisely, and will make our transition away from fossil fuel-based power much smoother. Electric vehicles, while having no carbon footprint in theory, can still cause severe ground and water pollution through the irresponsible mining of lithium and cobalt, vital components of their battery packs. Similarly, using electricity generated by fossil-fuel based power plants to charge up electric vehicles defeats their whole purpose. Since science is devoid of any morality, good or bad, it is fair to assume that it will take up the morality of whoever maintains control over it.

Thus, I’m of the opinion that the government must have a degree of control over scientific research. This ensures that the scientific research largely will be directed for the good of the people, since, all things considered, the good of the people is in the best interests of most governments across the world. This however does not mean the government must exercise absolute authority over science. This will most definitely give rise to lobbying and favouritism, where research houses will lobby to curry favour with the people in charge, thereby inadvertently stifling scientific progress heavily and possibly giving those who gain political favour free reign, defeating the purpose of regulation in the first place. On the flipside, an absolute lack of government control will most definitely give rise to an ethical nightmare. Breaking free from the practice of testing drugs on animals first, then humans might lead to faster development and breakthroughs, but it will come at a serious human cost. Rapid and large-scale implementation of AI and complete automation might lead to an exponential rise in productivity, at the cost of millions of jobs, potentially causing catastrophic social upheavals.

Thus, do I feel the government must place few/no restrictions of scientific R&D? No, but at the same time, it is wrong to place too many restrictions. The right answer, like most things, is finding a fine balance.