In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions

“In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions”. I do not agree with this statement.

Such statements often do sound catchy and may warrant some merit if given a cursory glance. It is fair to assume that beginners do bring new and diverse ideas into a field, and this could be a spawn of innovation.

However, a deeper look at this statement quickly strips away its credibility. Modern fields of enquiry are often studied by millions of people and are correspondingly extremely complex and vast. It can take years of study to get even a faint grasp on the full scope of a modern science. Take for example the field of computer science. There are hundreds of different possible approaches to every single problem there is. Thus, it is statistically likely that any ‘new’ breakthrough that a beginner comes up with has already been researched by someone else, and the beginner has essentially just re-invented the wheel. Add into the mix the various offshoots of computer science, like artificial intelligence, modern cryptography, high performance computing, and it is outright impossible for a single man to grasp the whole field. Thus, modern innovation is often driven by large teams of experts, each extremely proficient in their particular field of study. This amalgamation of various experiences and disciplines then takes the field to new heights.

Consider Albert Einstein for once, the man who shattered the world of physics through the theory of general relativity, thereby almost nullifying the last 100-200 years of research. He certainly was very young when he came up with his theory, being in his 20s. However, he can hardly be considered a beginner. He mastered advanced calculus in his teens and spent nearly a decade in study before coming up with this breakthrough. He was a prodigy, not an amateur, sadly, the two can often be confused with one another.

There are of course, exceptions. However, they are just that, exceptions. The norm is that innovation is driven by groups of people who are extremely knowledgeable in the fields. I can thus say, I completely disagree with the claim that beginners are more likely than experts to innovate.