As humans rely more on technology, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Looking at the world through the rose-tinted glasses of nostalgia is a very human trait. For some inexplicable reason, things always seemed better ‘back then’. The colours were brighter, the music, better, the grass, greener. Nowhere is this sentiment more visible than in society’s perception of technology.

Moore’s law states that the number of transistors that can be fit on a chip doubles every two years or so. This kind of growth is exponential, and computers and computing devices can, in the short span of a decade or two, become completely unrecognizable, and give rise to features and new applications of technology we could previously not conceive. Such change can make one pin any perceived problems of modern society on technology. To a generation that grew up using Desktop PCs with boxy CRTs and dial up modems, the smartphone with internet speeds approaching gigabits per second might be the root cause of what is ‘corrupting the youth’. Likewise, to a person from the 80s, with exposure to computers lacking even a graphical user interface, assuming he/she was lucky enough to have that exposure in the first place, the internet and computers in any form might seem to be reducing critical thinking.

The question we must thus ask ourselves is, is there any merit to any of this sentiment? I think there isn’t any. Some may argue that the ease that technology provides us hampers our problem-solving skills. Like for example, the calculator on your phone might weaken your arithmetic skills. Or the infinite access to information via the internet might weaken your memory. Or the easy commute to and from work courtesy the automobile might spoil your health. There is some truth to all of these statements, but that partial truth can easily conceal the actual picture. In my opinion, what technology does, is it gives us time. This time allows us to be far more efficient. Sure, you might not need to add numbers as often. But the time you save on that can allow you to work on something more complex than what can be solved on a calculator. Of course, not having to memorize facts can weaken your memory. But the time saved on memorizing said facts can be spent using those facts on a real-world problem. The commute to work might take away the exercise of a good walk, but it potentially frees up enough travel time for one to exercise at home/in the gym instead. Technology is the lever that multiplies our mind’s effectiveness by freeing it from the more mundane tasks associated with problem solving, thereby allowing it to focus on what really matters. The examples I mentioned were simplistic. Complex AIs for example can optimize the work of mechanical engineers to further improve efficiency and safety. Technology thus is simply a tool that helps us better solve problems, and in this world, there is no shortage of those. From corrupt and oppressive governments to pollution and climate change, we will have to rely on technology coupled with human ingenuity to solve them.