Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

“Teacher’s salaries should be based on their student’s academic performance”; I disagree with this statement.

In my opinion, there’s a range of factors that goes into a student’s academic performance, beyond just the teachers. It’s common to see some students shine under any teacher, as much as it’s common to see some lag behind, irrespective of who teaches them. In my opinion, the overall factors that determine a student’s abilities in an academic setting are a myriad of social, economic, and academic conditions.

By social conditions, I refer to the student’s peer group. This could be influenced by the place he/she studies in. As harsh as this may sound, a peer group from MIT would be far more competitive and academically inclined than one from an inconspicuous community college. Similarly, within academic settings itself, there are a bunch of social groups, as is natural, since people tend to prefer being with others of similar interests. Each of these groups will likewise have differing motivations to do well academically.

By economic conditions, I’m referring to a group of studies that show a student’s economic background plays a major role in his/her academic successes. Schools from the less affluent sections of a city tend to be less well funded and have poorer infrastructure than schools from the wealthier parts of the same city. Students from these less affluent parts will correspondingly face challenges, like a greater exposure to crime, longer commutes to their places of study, more distractions, etc that would never be a problem to those students who are better off.

By academic conditions, I am referring to the student’s personal interest in the subject he/she is learning. Students that enjoy a particular course or subject may tend to be more motivated to learn more about said subject than those who don’t. The ability of the teacher comes into play here too, in keeping students focussed and interested in the subject at hand. The course’s inherent difficulty may come into play here too. For example, in my own anecdotal evidence, the average scores for certain courses could vary drastically. In some, scoring over 90 out of 100 was common, while in others, scoring over 60 was unheard of.

Thus, while the teacher plays an important role in determining the student’s academic success, they are not the only factor. It’s quite likely that there are several factors that are beyond what the teacher can do anything about, and thus, adjusting the teacher’s salary based on the student’s performance is a bad idea. Moreover, adding such monetary incentives might drive teachers to take up more drastic methods to improve grades, like excessive homework, more rigorous enforcement of discipline and the likes, which will just lead to excessive stress to the students and teacher alike.