Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

The prompt claims that we can usually learn much more from like-minded people those whose views contradict our own because disagreement can cause tension, demotivation and impede learning. The given topic is highly contentious because disparate people may have different supports and opinions on the given topic. I am both agree and disagree with the given topic that we can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. There are three reasons and examples supporting my position are presented in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the quote by Thomas Jefferson, "The care of human life and happiness, not a destruction, is the first and only object of good government". The government plays the most important role in every country. The government must praise good work on scientific research. For instance, Frank Wittle, a Royal Air Force, wanted to develop a Turbo engine but his idea was rejected by a British Air Force. After that, he had to rise the fund and finally, he invented the turbo engine. Hence, this proved that government should not restrict scientific research.

Furthermore, scientific research plays an important role in the development of medicine of any disease. Any medicine have both positive and negative effect which can find out from the reasearch. For instance, in the case of Corona Virus which is spread all around the world, around 70 lakh people died. If every country's government could be focused on inventing the vaccine of Corona Virus small amount of people would have died. Hence, the government focuses on scientific research.

However, every time scientific research is not good. In many countries whose are no restrictions on scientific research that may invent nuclear bombs. in addition, those nuclear bomb has capacity to produce a huge amount of electrical energy, that may damage the whole city in a second. For example, In 1945, an America B-29 bomber drop an automatic bomb on the Japanese city Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The bomb wiped out 90% of the city and killed around 129,000 and 226,000 people in Hiroshima and Nagasaki respectively. Hence the government should be restricted on scientific research.

In summary, scientific research has both advantages and disadvantages. In some fields, scientific research is crucial however, in some cases scientific research is dangerous which are presented with reasons and examples supporting the Frank Wittle, Covid-19, and Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear explosion in the above paragraphs.