Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Reading this statement, many people might think it is a great idea because of the assumption that government restrictions on scientific research not only harms freedom of expression and thought but also the potential discoveries scientists can make. However, I disagree with the following statement because government restrictions, in a limited sense, on scientific research and development are important in order to ensure that there is a standard of ethics followed.

When a government does not place restrictions on scientific development, we witness the deceit and dishonesty that occurred with Henrietta Lacks. Lacks was an African America woman who had her cancer cells used to create the HeLa cell, the first immortal cell line that is still used today, over a century later. However, her cancer cells were used without her consent and she was not credited for helping aid in the discovery. She received no payment, which after her death, would have greatly helped her family and children because she came from an impoverished backgorund. If this were to occur today, many people would be outraged and the perpetrators would definitely have been arrested. However, back then, there were no government restrictions on scientific research or an ethics code to ensure that Lacks got justice. This situation with Henrietta shows the importance of having government restrictions on scientific research and development, especially if human subjects are involved. Without them, people can be easily victimized and manipulated as Henrietta was.

Additionally, another example of why government restrictions are necessary so that the line of ethics is not crossed is cloning. Although I am sure there has been development and research towards trying to clone objects, animals, and people, the reason why it is not common or at a global scale because of the extreme line of ethics it would cross. If scientists started cloning animals or even people, although it would be a great achievement in the history of science, it could breach a major code of ethics. People could be cloned without their permission or clones could be used to build a super army, which would become potentially dangerous. Questions would arise: does a clone have autonomy? Does a clone have the same rights as a human? Government restrictions prevent such catastrophic issues from emerging that could potentially end up questioning what it means to be human.

Furthermore, government restrictions not only ensure the protection of human subjects but they also ensure that scientists are not creating or developing something that can be potentially dangerous for a society. An example of this can be seen with nuclear bombs. History shows how much disaster was caused and how many lives were taken during World War II with the bombings at Hiroshima. Now, we do not see nuclear warfare and that is due to government restrictions. Without them, it would be fairly easy for countries to develop nuclear weapons or something even worse than that to terrorize other countries and their people.

People might think of government restrictions as a barrier towards development in science, but in the end they are there for the greater good. They make sure people are protected so that their autonomy is not violated and they assure that science is not used maliciously or with harm in mind.