Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Statement about the role government should play in R&Dis an important topic of every country, as it affect many of the ordinary citizens. However, too much restriction can have negative effects on the development and specific examples are necessary in order to find the line of government influence.

Should scientific research and development be untrammeleled by the governments´ legislation? The response on this question appears to be very subjective and moreover, can change according to specific circumstances, under which the question is analysed. First of all, research and developmnet can be highly beneficial and freedom in this area can be highly appreciated by the researchers and can benefit the humanity afterwards. In case of developed nations, research and development can be considered as the main driver of economic development of the country and therefore, the economic wellbeing of its citizens. For example, countries of Western Europe need inventions in industrial areas in order to be able to generate GHP growth in zears to come. There are not any more nations, which they migh „catch up“ and adopt their technology. Because their technology is in many cases superior. Hinder research and development by government legislative, therefore, would have detrimental consequencies on each and every citizen well being and future emplozement of each citizen.

However, as far as research and development play such an important role in our society, even if in many cases we do not see their effect dirrectly, motivation of this sector also needs to be taken into account. For example, the main motivation of research is to find a new laws of social world or nature, however, the ways of how the knowledge is generated can forget the moral principles, which need to be considered. In case of Stanford prison experiment, even if the findings have such a great importance, affected its participants in very negative ways and left many of them with hauting traumas for the rest of their lives. Every researcher should consider moral principles of each experiment or each research, however, they are tempted to overcome them. Because of this reason, government should act as guard of such principles to not allow experiments and actions which could put human wellbeing and health in stake.

Development can be dangerous in very same way. Private companies are profit seeking and their development departments work under this condition and with this motivation. Knowledge generated in the private company can be beneficial for the working condition of the employees, and improve their working condition by introducing heavy machinery or computers to their lives. However, without government restrictions, companies could easily develop their product which could subsequently have detrimental effect on whole society. As an example, gun companies may well have their R&D departments, however, what exactly they trying to develop should be controled by the government, which principal motivation is well being of its citizens.

Answer the statement is nota simple task. Research and development departments on universities, think tanks, or private companies should have their liberty in order to develop new technology and generate knowledge which benefits our societies as a whole. However, without government restrictions, the results might be insidious, as far as the motivation of these departments is not the well being if each and every ordinary citizen.