"The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

I completely agree with the opinion stated. I believe the most important and valuable characteristic a human can have is ethical integrity. This is also true for any company. No one wants to deal business with a company or organization that does not abide the basic ethical regulations.

Not maintaining a high ethical standard directly impacts the number of clients or partners the company works with. Hence, decrease in profit is a corollary.

Allow me to exemplify, a company which has been debased frequently over some corruption issue or found adhering to non-ethical malpractices, be it to increase profits or to augment reputation, will definitely witness a decrease in the number of organizations willing to work with them as they cannot be trusted, as working with them can be treacherous. On the other hand, companies that maintain high ethical standards, for example, several non-profit or non-government organization driven by a social cause, will definitely attract myriad of organizations

to work or deal business with.

The companies that fail to maintain high ethical standards, often engage in certain activities which result in decreased reputation when exposed and sometimes, closure. hence, there is no question raised about profit or loss when the company ceases to exist.

So, to maintain or increase profits a company must maintain high ethical standards.