Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

I agree and disagree with the statement at the same time. My partial agreement is because I

bolster the reasoning of promoting and giving raises to the employees on the basis of merit and work performance. This not only encourages productivity but also encourages every individual to work harder and improve every day. It motivates the employees to push themselves beyond their limits and think outside the box in order to get the promotion or raise they have been waiting for since long. Consequently, this benefits the company, augments their reputation and profits, and hence, the employees are benefited.

My disagreement is based on the fact that as employees grow older, their ability to perform well, their productivity decreases, and hence if the sole criteria for promotion and giving raises are productivity and merit, the elder employees' chances for getting the promotion are hampered. Another reason for the decreased productivity of any employee, elder or younger,

can be a recent mishap in their personal lives, which makes it harder for them to focus on their job and give their best. This, as it can be seen, wouldn't encourage productivity and as a result,

deteriorates the company's reputation.

Therefore setting work performance and merit as the only criteria for promotion or giving raises can be good and bad at the same time. Hence, along with, better-suited criteria must be devised for promoting employees which benefits both younger and elder employees at the same time and doesn't hamper anyone's chances of being rewarded for their hard work.