The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s world where Technology is rising at blitzing speeds and machines are getting more advanced than ever before, the prompt says that the human mind will stay superior to machines because machines are only a tool of human minds – which I mostly agree for two reasons, although I concede that, if the machines are imparted Artificial Intelligence or become conscious, then they would lack the limitations our minds are confined to and could exceed the human intellect.

Firstly, The human mind is an incredibly complex biological machine, understanding how that works would require more than a lifetime of research. While machines are definitely getting better, but they are no way near the complexity of a human mind. For Instance, take a washing machine as an example, the only thing it knows or can do is laundry, its capabilities are very limited, also the “Smart” Phone is considered a very complicated machine, but in reality it is just a glorified calculator, which performs calculations at blinding speeds, albeit in a different way to satisfy the user’s requests. All these Machines which look very sophisticated are inferior to the human mind because they lack the flexibility and the learning ability that the human mind possesses, for instance think about how a human baby can learn to walk without any explicit external stimuli, can you imagine a smartphone doing something on its own without the user prompting it? I think this is the most important trait of human mind which make us superior to machines.

Moving on, the primary need for the development of machines was to be used as tools, tools which did their job no questions asked. Even if a lot of time has passed since the first use of machines, even now machines are used as tools which make human life easier. It would be natural to say that the mind that created these machines (tools) would be superior to them. For instance, if we consider the development of an aeroplane, the first aeroplane ever made did not even have a flight time of two minutes, and fast forward to two hundred years later we have flights connecting two corners of this huge world, doing this was possible for the human mind – the aeroplane did not get better on its own, instead the human mind got better at understanding how to make and fly aeroplanes. This example shows how accommodative and pliable the human mind is unlike machines which are often rigid.

However, if the human mind was able to impart Artificial Intelligence to the machine, then the machine would become conscious, and would no longer be a dormant entity that only does its job, but it would start to think on its own. If this happens then the human mind will lose the most important advantage it had over machines that is to “Think” on its own and “Learn” from experience, moreover the sentient machine could be free from the confines that a human mind has like the need to sleep or rest. This machine could grow and become something superior than the human mind.

To conclude, the above reasons would be sufficient to categorize this prompt as ambiguous, It doesn’t have a concrete answer, but what can be said with certainty is that machines are still a long way off form getting better than the human mind, and that the human mind is still superior from any machine.