The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The age-old question of man versus machine, we humans have always pondered on this topic forever, and with new advancements in Artificial Intelligence (AI) this topic has become more relevant than ever. People have argued for both sides. Some say machines are superior and like the issue presented some say human minds are superior after all humans are the ones who created the machines. I beg to differ; I believe that machines will not remain inferior --which is the case now-- to humans forever and there will come a time when machines will far exceed human capability in every way possible. I will explain my position in three paragraphs below. Yes, I have to acknowledge the fact that at this moment in current time, human beings are superior to machines. We are the creators of machines; a machine is only as capable as the human who uses it and even with the recent advances in AI there is still a lot to be desired. Humans are far better in creativity, and reasoning, and humans have the ultimate ability to think and create new things which the machines of today lack. But it is this advantage or superiority we possess against the machines today that will ultimately be the reason for it to not stay this way forever. I believe that this ability to create, think, and innovate will allow us humans to create something that will ultimately exceed us. Machines of today are already very good at doing certain tasks better than humans. This advantage they possess already makes them superior to humans at that particular task. For example, computers can calculate complex equations and calculations astronomically faster than humans. How can we say we are superior when machines are winning in certain tasks? And due to innovation, new machines are created which seem like every month they are better than humans at a certain task. We are continuously losing ground on what we’re better at everyday to machines and it will soon come a time when we are no longer able to say we are superior to machines. Even if we consider the ability to think as the ultimate ability that is the determinant of superiority. Machines of today are not just created by one person, not even one country. The technology of today such as the internet and platforms like GitHub has allowed human beings to collaborate on a scale never imagined before. The development of today’s machines is backed by the culmination of all brilliant human minds of the whole world. Research is being done at an unprecedented rate in AI and machines. It is only a matter of time before researchers can create AI that has the ability to think for themselves and create and innovate like us humans. This ability of machines will only be enchanted by the fact that machines are not limited by the biological limitations of the human and human mind. Machines have more longevity they can keep learning and innovating forever they are not fatigued. These advantages will inevitably lead machines to be superior to humans in the future. To conclude, it is very clear that this is a complicated topic and good arguments can be made by both sides. While it is the case that human beings are superior to machines today. New machines that are better than humans are specific tasks that are created frequently. Ultimately because of the human’s ability to think, innovate, and collaborate humans will eventually create a machine that can think like humans but with the lack of biological limitations of humans. This is why I believe that machines will not remain inferior to humans forever.