If a goal is worthy, then any means to attain it are justifiable.

No, even if the goal is worthy, that doesn’t make any and all means to attain it justifiable. A goal that is earned and that which is just stolen are two completely different things. While it is true that one must give their all and strive to achieve their goal to the maximum of their capabilities, that doesn’t mean any means are valid to attain that said goal.

There can be multiple paths to attain one’s goal but taking the most ethical and honourable path is what makes the end result worth it and builds character. You will be presented with a few cheap and easy cop outs in your journey but the resilient determination to stay on your path and work hard towards your goal is what will set you apart in the future. Let’s take an example of someone who is working hard to crack LSAT and get into law school. The honest way is to put in the effort and burn the midnight oil preparing for the test and the cop out way is to cheat on the exam by hiring a proxy to write it for you and get an easy way in. The gratification one would get from cracking the LSAT and getting an admission into law school is going to be unparalleled to some one who cheated and took the easy way out.

Sometimes the hard work and journey you take to reach the goal is vital in your journey after the said goal is achieved. The hard work also bears fruits that can be reaped at a later date long after the goal is achieved. Taking the same example, the knowledge you can get from taking the LSAT is going to continue to be of help long after you enter a law school and is going to be with you throughout your journey as a lawyer, meanwhile the person who took the cop out is going to lack this knowledge and severely fall behind their peers during classwork and as a result, further in their career.

Not to mention, there can also be multiple legal troubles one can get into by employing non ethical means to attain the goal, irrespective of whether the goal is worthy or not. Taking the same LSAT example, the legal trouble one can go through for hiring a proxy is huge and they are likely never to step foot in a law school ever.

Hence it is wise to not use any dirty and cheap methods to attain one’s goal and put in the grind and hard work to achieve it as the goal achieved through honest means is completely different that a goal achieved through deceit.