If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Having a set of goals and aims in life gives people a sense of direction in life. Working towards the goal, makes people more hardworking. And accordingly the prompt suggests that if people feel their goals are worth a lot , they should adopt any means to achieve it anyhow. In my opinion , I mostly disagree with this statement for two reasons.

To begin, persistence and determination is one of the good qualities in a person that will help them reach their aim in life more smoothly. But one should learn to give up a goal when it becomes almost unachievable. If should welcome flexibility along with persistence in their life. For instance, a student who wants to get into Harvard university failed to get admission after trying for his fourth time. He should be able to understand that at this point , trying again will be futile but continuing to try will only waste his years in life that he can can devote towards another goal in his life. This example clearly demonstrated that persisting tirelessly even when they are bound to fail will bring them no good, so one should know when to abandon a specific goal and adapt with then new situations in a flexible manner. Persistence is good but attaining flexibility brings further successes.

Secondly, it is often seen that people when they fail in achieving their specific target often adopts immoral ways to attain his goal. Giving up moral principles for attaining a goal is certainly not beneficial than holding on to the target. Moreover, adopting unethical ways to achieve something brings conflict not in life , but also in in one's soul. For instance, Hitler had a specific goal in his mind and he adopted any means that he could think of to achieve it, no matter how much destruction he is bringing on to the world. Is it really worth it to give up morals to attain a goal? -such a question is inevitable in these situations. This example specifically manifest that people should work for their goals but their persistence should be restrained within some principles. Otherwise , it will only bring chaos rather than tranquility.

Lastly, I do concede that if someone sets a goal for himself, he should exhaust through all possibilities to attain the goal but only in a principled manner. Persistence is necessary in life, otherwise people will only be come more lethargic. A person should be determined towards achieving their target but in the process , he should not lose his soul. What good is a success if it brings only chaos and turbulence?

In conclusion, working towards a goal gives people a sense of life, a reason to wake up everyday and work towards something. But no goal should be held on for too long even after trying and exhausting through all possibilities, otherwise one might get stuck at a certain point in his life. Knowing when to relinquish is a very important skill in one's life.