Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.

Unequivocally, with a cursory inspection of human beings' outlooks towards the alterations in status quos in multifarious facets of their lives from the genesis of human civilizations, it can be construed that individuals have had difficulties accepting (=?) new unwelcome truths. This tendency to adhere to sometimes "perceived wisdom" has resulted from our inflexible dogmatism having been handed down from the past. Although I subscribe to this notion, I maintain that with the passage of time especially in the new age (counterculture?) in which we live people are more open to acclimatizing to new truths or facts.

In the political sphere, it is worth mentioning that every either nuanced or significant amendment has sparked numerous disputations between advocates and naysayers, in as much as revoking or invoking any new laws can affect a large number of people's lives. In this regard, powerful figures who have seen their power, properties at the risk have felt uncomfortable and utilized their status to confront changes. To illustrate, an astute politician paved the way for elimination of the slavery system in the US, Abraham Lincoln had some detractors--the republican hardliners--regarding his fundamental alterations in politics. Although he is now revered as a national hero for the fact that he was the architect of new democratic policy and modernized economy, his rules and speeches did not correspond to the interests of the most influential people, which led to his assassination.

In the social realm more precisely in the equity amongst men and women, women were traditionally believed to be less than men in every aspect, namely the right to vote, the right to work, have the same remunerations as men, the right to be candidate, the custody of their children, the education, and so on (?). Unfortunately, this perspective was ingrained into all but the handful number of open-minded women and men (like Anne Kenney and Christabel Pank?) in the last decades of the 18th (or eighteenth?) century who put themselves to the utmost to retrieve women's right and abolish the sex discrimination (gender inequality, disparity).This dramatic change and its consequential upshots, not surprisingly, had a large number of opponents, but with liberals perpetual effort and devotion detractors resigned. So women would not have the opportunity to exude their latent talent in various fields but for broad-minded people having led (heralded?) the way for them.

In the scientific domain, it goes without saying that we would not have convenient access to the multitude of novel technologies but for perpetual efforts and devotion of a handful number of eminent scientists in conjunction with noted entrepreneurs who have not been restricted to so-called "accepted wisdom". In other words, every development of our today's lives should be beholden to outstanding geniuses having stood against the public belief. Take Galileo, an Italian polymath, as a notable example whose impressive research outcomes provoked contentious controversies among Inquisition--a Roman Catholic organization that condemned people with unacceptable religious beliefs. Since he believed that the Sun, not the Earth was the center of the universe, (--?) on the contrary to the conviction of the populace of that era who were of the opinion that due to Galileo's contention they had to encounter divine torment. Had he not remained steadfast, we would not have passed the transition from natural philosophy to modern science, which is the foundation of all new sciences which are at the vanguard nowadays.

Nonetheless, as time goes by with the arrival of new technologies, the weird, wired world where we live has changed, as have individuals' mindsets. In doing so, nations are more likely to adapt themselves to the new twists compared to what they already believed as a true fact. Consider such disputable issues as same-sex marriage, surrogacy, and transgender surgery (sex reassignment surgery), had they been issued one century ago, many more detractors would have had in comparison with now.

To sum up, given the foregoing explanations of emergence of new truths in our lives, I, undoubtedly, deem that changes in "accepted wisdom of earlier times" have been difficult for people to be convinced. As they perceive their beliefs, thoughts, positions as well as their properties in the jeopardy. Meanwhile, the differences between humankinds’ outlooks with their ancestors' should not be neglected in view of the fact that today's public do not possess dogmatic and restricted views towards popping up new facts.