Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system because moral behavior cannot be legislated.

Unquestionably, with the genesis of new modern societies with individuals with divergent multicultural and economic backgrounds, a major problem or obstacle facing the populace as well as official authorities is formulating a policy, law, and legislation system whereby individuals will get the impression that should they commit crimes in any types such as moral issues, they have to be held responsible for that as well as expecting to be punished. Proponents of this notion, however, surmise that laws cannot be instrumental in the realm of moral issues due to the essence of morality. I tend to agree with the former one, though.

According to the former point of view, legislating laws and contriving a legal system have been believed to be conducive to prevent people, especially some of them who are more prone due to their impoverished class of society, their poverty-stricken life, from committing crimes. In addition, setting and implementing the legal system can be as a deterrent leverage for people who have the insatiable proclivity for striving more and more without having any need. Had the restrictive laws not been passed, the modern societies with their dramatical growing populations would be doomed to suffer from the consequential inexorable reverberations of crimes. Take Clinton-Lewinsky's sexual scandal as an example, sexual harassment, undoubtedly, is a moral issue, but had a plaintiff not had the opportunity to go to the court to retrieve her right, who knows how many innocent women would be sentenced to be a victim of sexual harassment, especially in confronting "powerful figures" who misuse their power and connection to satisfy their voracious sexual instincts. Hence, it seems that does not matter what the crime issue is either immorality or other areas passing laws can prohibit perpetrators from continuing their crimes.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, detractors of the efficacy of laws and legal system so as to tackle and eradicate moral issues in modern human beings' lives deem that the subatantial increasing rate of unstoppable moral issues in present-day societies is indicative of inefficacy of establishing some rules. This is mainly because moral principles cannot be molded by invoking laws and settling legal systems. As a case in point, illegally hunting animals--especially some of them who are on the verge (brink) of extinction, namely special tigers, grizzly bears, deer, and so on-- has not been stopped by strict and restrictive laws having been passed by official plenipotentiaries, inasmush as possessing guilty consciences cannot be ingrained into some ones' characteristics whose behaviors are wanting in morals. To illustrate, loopholes in laws are "an inevitable part" of the judicial system, and people whose behaviors are destitute of morals make a ploy to exploit these loopholes by nepotism or the inefficiency of the legal system. To combat the moral issues, moral sense should be instilled into children's minds and characteristics in view of the fact that infants as well as children are more open to be formed by moral standards by their family institutions in conjunction with schools, since with the passage of time their being impressible can be reduced. In this regard, some religious creeds can be helpful in prohibiting human beings' inclination to do wrong and immoral things which hurt others, in which situation no rules can be useful.

To sum up, weighing up the aforementioned explanations, I am of the opinion that it is undeniable that setting laws and inculcation moral principles into children's characteristics alike make a tremendous impact on resolving moral issues in modern societies. However, although I opine that stipulation of regulations has a more direct and restrictive impact on prohibiting people from neglecting morality, the role of inculcating conscience cannot be wholly overlooked.