The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

By claiming that rapid pace of modern life causes more problems than it solves, the speaker raises a riveting topic about contemporary society. From my perspective, I believe the speaker over-simplifies an issue that can be more complicated. increasing rhythm of modern life solves problems as well as bringing problems.

To start with, people’">people’s life rhythm surely accelerated in the background of industrialization. In the agricultural society, people’">people’s time once was counted in days, even in months or years. after the advent of machines and electricity, many people must work around a machine in a factory. Then people’">people’s time must count in hours or minutes. More importantly, modern society provides the mechanism of market and competition. this stimulates people to work harder if they want to earn more money and lead better lives. however, I cannot accept the speaker’s conclusion that more rapid life speed inevitably causes more problems. There are many problems solved in the modern society that was unimaginable in the agricultural period.

Starvation is an obvious example. even though a farmer’s life can become busier when they have modern harvesters thus can manage a much a bigger piece of farmland, they now can provide a much greater crop outcome that is feeding a growing population. another example is the internet. The advent of the internet makes office workers busier, when the CEOs can reach his subordinates at any time or from anywhere. however, it also provides workers the opportunity to work from home or any other places rather than formal office, thus providing an opportunity to solve the traffic jam problem.

On the other hand, I agree with the speaker that rapid life speed causes many problems. now industrialization in the developing countries is straining the supply-and-demand relationship of the world’s energy market. The oil price soars in the last decades even though the supply increased and some alternative energy sources are available. Environmental pollution is another problem. now it becomes harder to find a clear river to swim. At the moment when I am writing this essay, heavy smog has covered north China for more than a week.

Furthermore, rapid life speed are stressing people’">people’s mental health. For people around me, I find many are suffering from insomnia and depression, worrying about the possibility of losing their current job and worrying about soaring housing price. however, can we go back to the agricultural era? I want to emphasize the point that we can only solve the modern problems with more advanced technologies and trying to keep balance between hard work and leisure. now we can see many physicians can cure people’">people’s insomnia with modern medicines. Meanwhile, many people go to church or go to the suburb with their family after a whole week of intense work.

To sum up, I agree that the rapid modern life brings many problems. however, I want to point out the positive side of modern life, and believe we should avoid a pessimistic attitude toward modern life.