The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

With the pace that humanity is heading towards the future, it has become a burning question where this will end. It is not about the development that is being encountered, but the denial of consequences that leads to the question and deliberate concerns regarding the behavior and psychology of mankind. We certainly have advanced a lot - have a lot of technology at our disposal, are smarter than ever, studying in reputed universities learning and researching about the deeper and deeper concepts and phenomena that were once obscure, solving problems that have been hampering the growth of humans, and what not. Although, this development has solved a lot of problems prevailing since the early days of mankind, and continues to solve problems that we face every day, but it has given way to a lot of other problems that technology can not solve. The rapid pace of life has caused more problems than it solves.

Every one is busy with their own life and living today with the work one has to get done, the deadlines, the assignments, client engagements etc. We want to get one work done as quickly as possible, moving on to the next one, never taking a break and reflecting what the bigger picture is. With all these engagements, parents have no time for their children, children have no time for their parents. Everybody is leading a solitary life, unsympathetic to family and friends. This has caused a dramatic decline in family values and traditions.

With this increasing pace comes avarice, lust and the willingness to do anything to achieve what we desire. There is a lot of competition for everything - getting into the best school, then best college, then landing good jobs, so on and so forth - that has led people to be willing to employ any means to get the best for them. Some get it by working hard, others by malfeasance. Values and fair practices are put at stake to achieve what one wants. This has led to problems with people trusting each other, because no one knows what is fair and what is not. Those who are not that bright enough to get the best for them by hard work commit to malpractices to get what they want. They plan heists, burglaries, and all sorts of hacks. These practices engender rivalry and vindictive behavior, and thus crimes and murders. Aren’t all these problems the result of our own undoing?

Many people live stressful lives because of work pressure, peer pressure etc. This leads to several health problems - heart attacks, depression, nervous breakdowns and other conditions - that put their lives at risk and reduce the life expectancy. On one hand, we are trying to combat these diseases with advanced research and discoveries, and on the other hand, our lifestyle promotes the risk of such conditions happening to us. Doesn’t it look it there are more problems than we are trying to solve?

Technology and development have aimed at making life better and provide better living standards for humans, but our inveterate nature to get the best at any cost has caused a lot of problems that can not be solved, and have put our lives at risk and social obligations unfulfilled. This advancement has come with a huge price and has become cumbersome for mankind to deal with. It is very necessary to find ways to make our lives rich and better in terms of values and practices we follow to achieve something. Resorting to fair means and introspection can solve some of the problems we face in life and put humanity back on track for greater good.