Issue

Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Conversations about topics that may be controversial to an individual is essential in many aspects of society. Discussions allow for societies to make laws, have sounds morals, and learn. People who are set in stone about their beliefs on a certain topic may be hard to be convinced otherwise but they will benefit greatly from discussing their beliefs. Discussing their core beliefs with someone who may not agree is beneficial because both sides will benefit from being educated on the topic and they may be able to change their mind.

Discussing controversial topics may be hard without getting emotions involved, especially when someone has very strong beliefs about the topic. Although, these conversations may get heated, both sides will benefit greatly from being informed about the other sides point of view. Seeing both sides of the story may allow an individual to become more understanding and willing to consider the other side. Controversial topics also benefit society greatly. Many people develope good morals from discussing topics they disagree on. For example, a person may be so unwilling to change their mind and even consider the other side simply because they were misinformed or just did not know much about the other topic. I find this happens a lot with vaccines. Many people who are against vaccines are given incorrect information or may simply just not know the benefits outway the negatives. Many people believe vaccining their children is moraly correct because their are plenty of individuals who cannot get vaccines due to underlying illnesses and rely on the vaccinated individuals to prevent the spread of diseases.

The purpose of a discussion should not be to simply change someones mind. A discussion should allow for both sides to explain their points and allow each individual to form their own opinion. A discussion will most likely turn into an argument if their main objective is to change their mind. People will benefit from discussion their personal beliefs by seeing both sides of the stories. They may learn a point that they may not have considered before. It may not change their mind but it could make them be more considerable of the topic next time it comes up.

When discussing a topic that is extremely important, it is vital to make sure that both sides are willing to consider the opposing side to avoid an argument. Although, it may not change their mind, it may make that individual consider the opposing side when they may encounter that topic again.