The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Banning cell phones on sidewalks will not be beneficial to the cause for numerous reaons. There is not enough evidence supporting this clame and without such evidence a cell phone ban is an extreme that should not be resorted to.

Just because banning cell phones in Middletown worked does not mean it will work in Centerville. There could be many circumstances that may make a cell phone ban beneficial in Middletown and ineffective in Centerville. Such circumstances could be the population or the size of the sidewalks. If a younger population exists in Middletown, that may lead to a successful cell phone ban since young people tend to be glued to their phones more than older peaople, which leads to distraction. Also, if the roads are smaller in Middletown, then a cell phone ban could work since there is less room for people. The scenarios above leads to the fact that there is not enough data and evidence backing the claim that a cell phone ban will be beneficial in Centerville similarily to Middletown.

A cell phone ban will not be the fix for sidewalk rage. It is in human nature to be distracted. Many people find distractions while walking such as wildlife or seeing a friend which may cause them to bump into others. Assuming that a cell phone ban will bring an end to such problem is naive. There are so many distractions in daily life that can cause someone to lose focus easily. A cell phone ban may be somewhat beneficial in the instances where cell phone distraction was the cause of the bump-in. There maybe many times where a cell phone was not the cause of the incident and there is just not enough evidence to support the claim that a cell phone ban will be a fix to the side walk rage. Some options outside of a cell phone ban could be limiting running on sidewalks or making lines on the sidewalk to make sure people avoid bumping into oneanother.

Banning cell phones may be effective in some sidewalk rage incidents. More evidence is needed to support that claim. There are other options that should be looked into prior to resorting to such an extreme.