It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Culture can be defined as arts, customs, social behaviour and ideals of a group of people or society. The author opines that a nation’s cultural traditions are primarily generated and preserved in cities. While it is true that some major cities round the globe boast rich cultural heritage and some act as stage for cultural exhibition , the author’s claim is an overt generalization of the role of cities in cultural preservation and generation.

Verily, many famous cities rose to prominence primarily due to their aesthetic, architectural or historical legacy especially. They became the point of attraction for myriad arts and history enthusiast who then contributed to the preservation of their cultural assets through tourism revenues. For example, while every nook and corner of the city of Rome speaks about the bygone Roman architecture, the tower of London and London Bridge reveal much about the British history. Moreover, metropolitans also serve as a platform to project a nation’s aesthetic accomplishments to the visitors through theatres, museums, etc. because their operation and maintenance require capital as well as big market which may be lacking in rural or smaller cities. For instance, musicians from all the part of the country gather a big opera to give a taste of folk music, whereas artisans and painters showcase their talent in art or paint galleries. Yet, these arguments can’t suffice to justify the author’s generalization for three primary reasons.

Firstly, culture is not limited to the aesthetic heritage of a country. The other aspects such as social behaviour, ideals and customs are more visible in the villages and smaller towns. This is especially true when the demographics distribution of a country is concentrated in the rural areas. For example, India is agrarian country with a big chunk of population having traditional occupation of farm related activities. Needless to say, such a trend cannot be understood in an Indian metropolis. Similarly, there are myriad other professions such as lock making, handicrafts, handloom weaving, hand-made leather footwear which flourish in some smaller traditional towns. While cities act as marketing agent for these products providing support, those professions cannot flourish in big cities simply because of the unaffordable associated cost. Even the artistic aspects of culture are not confined to city limits. There exist many towns and regions of cultural and historical repute which either due to connectivity, preservation or geographical size couldn’t evolve into cities such as highlands in Scotland, Cotswolds in England, etc.

Secondly, modernisation and globalization of cities have ramifications on their native culture. Classical theatre shows get replaced by multiplexes, fast-food restaurant take over traditional cuisine, etc. People busy to earn their livelihood, either due to professional requirement or lack of time, pay little attention to their cultural traditions. While they may exhibit some essence of their customs and ideals, such practices are more common and pristine in the villages or towns they come from. In Mumbai, for instance, professionals belonging villages usually don corporate or casual wears even though their traditional attire happens to ‘dhoti’ or ‘saree’ (the former is draped around the waist and the latter around body). Similarly, influx of international immigrants due to globalizations assures that the original culture is diluted. It is for this reason that popping up of numerous oriental and Asian restaurants in London over the few decades has served to take off the focus from traditional English breakfast from the visitors and the locals.

Lastly, not all cities rose to prominence because of their cultural importance. Cities, such as Dubai, became tourist hotspots because of the government spending on tourist attraction like the artificial marvel of Palm Island, luxurious Burj Al- Arab hotel, exorbitant sky-scrapers, theme parks, etc. Certainly, one cannot get the glimpse of the Arabian Bedouin culture without venturing out in outskirt deserts.

In conclusion, some major cities boast about the artistic cultural heritage while some provide stage for cultural marketing. However, the customary, social and other aspects of culture are more visible in their historical source i.e. small towns and villages. Modernisation and globalization of cities also results in dilution of national culture let alone preservation and generation. Therefore, it is safer generalize that a nations cultural traditions are preserved and generated in both cities and villages.