It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Every nation on earth has their unique cultural traditions and finding their origin is not an easy task. However, I strongly disagree with the statement that cities predominantly give rise to the cultural traditions. In my opinion, rural or grass root level communities inside a nation is the actual source of cultural elements for a couple of reasons.

Even in today's modern and urbanized world vast majority of world population reside in the villages. And historically every nations in modern world was predominantly rural in most of their existance.The diverse culture every nation cherish can, thus, be traced back to their communities in the country side. Take, for example, the case of Bengali new year festival, celebrated by the Bengali people of Bangladesh which is also a national holiday: it was initially a tradition prevalent among the farmers of villages there and out reach of the affluent city dwellers. Only in the late nineteenth century the day along with all activities came into limelight and subsequently nationalised. And its not an exception. All major cultural traditions can be thus linked to some sort of arcane rural traditions.

Another crucial point I would like to mention is that most of the city dwellers are actually cosmopolitan in nature. To put it another way cities are a hodgepodge of various people of different culture. This heterogenity culture, in my opinion, hinder cities to generate cultural identity that can resonate throughout the nation.

On the hind side, it can't be denied that urban people do countribute in dessimation of tradition my embracing or celebrating it, but they are far from being the generator of cultural heritages. Still, rural areas with grass root people are the key impetus for unique cultural developments.