All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is hardly any place in the world where all the knowledge is amassed. As a result people often need to cross the border for enhancing their cognitive capabilities. In the prompt, it is mentioned that spending at least one semester abroad would be beneficial for all college and university students. I completely agree with the prompt for two reasons.

First of all, the main aim of education is to enlighten a student from the darkness of being unlettered and it is merely possible to grasp full knowledge without sharing. Therefore, it is highly necessary for a student to choose a different country, which is remarkably advanced in the respective field of the student, to study for at least one semester. As a result of enrolling in the foreign university or college the student will be benefited by acquiring advanced knowledge in his own academic sphere, and by sharing his own learnings he will also be able to determine the flaws and development of his own studies in the country of his origin.

Secondly, one can view the world from a different perspective by going abroad or studying in a country which is very different in terms ideology of his own state. For example, a student from a communist country could admit in an educational institution of a democratic system, by doing so he would be aware of the pros and cons of both the system and it will help him to make government policy in his late life. We can also think of a student living in a free democratic country who enters into an autocratic regime to study for some year. By studying there he could learn how an autocratic regime is govern by a single king or queen. These will help a student to find out the opportunities and difficulties in different political system, thereby enlightening a student which is the main aim of education.

However, one might argue that the aforementioned causes or aims can be fulfilled by staying in one’s own country and going abroad would be a waste of money and resources. Though the argument seems plausible, it is not completely true. For example, it is possible to learn about capitalism from a country which is centrally planned, but it is very likely that the institutions of those countries will be dogmatic in their views, and they will make propaganda about capitalism. In consequence, a student will be deprived of getting pure knowledge about a particular field, which is definitely a hindrance to the way of educating a person. Therefore, it is necessary for a student to attend in person of a foreign country to grasp the clear idea of their system.

To sum up, it can be said that studying a semester abroad would be beneficial for students of all the colleges and universities, though some may argue that it would be a waste of resources, but their argument is not valid because to get a clear idea and to be enlighten a person must go to different cultures, institutions in person.