It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that, “You are an average of five people you spend most of your time with”. According to this quote the personality of a person is impacted by the five people he mostly stays around. The human being is a social animal as he tends to socialize with people in order to live his life and thus social group plays a vital role in person’s life. According to the prompt, a person is identified by through is social groups in with which he is associated. I my opinion, I would partially agree with the prompt and provide two reasons to support it and on to analyse it critically

The fact the prompt states may not always hold true as some people tend to be alone in order to accomplish certain goals or acquire certain personality traits. For example, some author tends to stay away from the social groups in order to write their novels and portray various personalities and characters to build the story. Some actors tend to live away from the social life in order to acquire the personality of the character which they are going to portray in their film

Although, human beings have a sense of tendency of comparison inherent within themselves. Thus, we always try to compare our personality with other to analyse the pros and cons in ourselves and try to match ourselves with our ideal personality. For example, If a person in a group has well build physical personality, the other persons in that group try to match themselves with his personality by heading to the gym, getting a diet plan etc, as it creates an inferiority complex within themselves. Thus, the person try to acquire the attributes of others personality and try to bridge the gap within themselves.

In addition to it, a person is largely influenced by thinking patterns of the people he stays around with. This indirectly shapes the personality of that person by changing its thinking patterns. For Instance, A person gets influenced by the method of tackling a certain problems and inherently tries to employ the same techniques in his life and thus changes its perspective to look at that particular problem.This influences the person to acquire that thinking techniques and intrinsically try to mimic the thinking patterns and hence match the personality.

Thus, to conclude we can say that it is not always true that the personality of a person is identified his social groups as there are some exceptions to it and thus the statement might not hold true for some reasons.