It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

[Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.]

The speaker asserts that the way to define ourselves is through our identification with social groups. It is true that social groups are so different that people cannot identify it easily. However, as a human being, people must define themselves the society. Therefore, Identification with social groups is the only way that can help people realize themselves. I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, since human being lives in social context, social identification, which can help us recognize ourselves, is necessary; As a social animal, humans have relationship with his or her social partners, such as colleague, classmate and family. In a different social groups, human have different roles in the social context. In order to find their direction of life, humans must know what kinds of roles they play in the society. For example, students must find out the requirement, and develop themselves through education. After graduated, students can engage in what they like or what they want to do, such as being a lawyer, an engineer, or a doctor. Without social identification, humans cannot realize who they are.

Further, defining self through identification with social groups exercises a positive influence in humans. humans will benefit from identifying characteristics of social groups, through which they can understand themselves better. For example, Clubs can be a small social groups; When attending the schools, students search for a club. At clubs, the same kinds of students will be combined, and students can find out their merits in the clubs. In the clubs, students could be a director, a member belonging to event planning, or a member belonging to public relations department. Through identifying their roles in the club, students can know what kind of roles they like, and it can be analogy to society. In sum, humans can benefit from identifying their social groups.

On the other hand, the things that people could not identify social groups has a negative effect on themselves. If people is incapable of knowing their roles in the society, they will lose their way, even becoming unfamiliar with themselves. For instance, Lobo Wolf Girl, a girl was seen running on all fours alongside a pack of wolves going after a herd of goats. Due to lacking ability to identify herself in the social context, she was unable to exhibit a human’s characteristics. In brief, If people cannot identify social groups, they cannot behave like a human because they cannot defining themselves.

To sum up, human realize themselves through identification with social groups, and benefit from social groups. If people cannot recognize social groups, they will lose the direction of life. So, I totally agree what the speaker says.