"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every society which aims to thrive needs to think carefully on teaching young people to be good leaders in every field. Without solid leadership skills there will be no reasanable policies enjoying wide support and no strong companies improving the economy of the country. However, the opinions on what constituties a good leader differ dramatically. Some people believe that a great leader is a great competitor, while others think that the skill of cooperating effectively with other people is the key. In my opinion, both views have some truth in them, however, I believe that cooperation is more important than competition.

Most people have heard that competition is the basis of market economy and that it is cooperation that gives companies the incentive to innovate and imporve their products and their efficiency. The same can be said about the world of politics. In democratic world, the competition between parties and candidants for presidency is an essential reason for political actors' willingness to listen to people and to address the problems important for the nation. One can say that the modern world is found on competition, thus, the skill of competing is the key to success. It may be true, but I think that society needs more than presidents and CEOs of successful companies. Few people will reach that. That society really needs is people who are able to communicate with others well, and there are two main resaons for that.

Firstly, it is often impossible to compete effectively on your own. For instance, a candidat for presidentcy needs funding and wide public support. His campaign is led by experts in many different fields. Without effective communication with them the candidat won't be able to build effective team no matter how competitative he is. Without a good team combining different types of extertise he is doomed to lose the election. So, it is essential to have a net of people working towards the same goal. That will be easier to achieve for a person who grew up in the spirit of coopertion.

Secondly, cooperation is important for everyday operation of an organization. If a president who cares only about competition is elected, he or she will find it exteremely difficult to do their work. A government is an enormous organization consisting of people with different political views and different fields of expertise. In order to make informed, efficient choices, the president must be able to find a way to communicate with these people effectively. He or she should remember that they have the same goal, a prosperous country. It is impossible to lead the goverment without excellent interpersonal skills. The education which empaphises teamwork is likely to help to develop them.

To sum up, I am convinced that a good leader should be exceptional at cooperation with the people he or she leads. While competion has a lot of benefits and ability to live in the competitative environment is extremely important, a person without communication skills is likely to lose in this environment. So I believe that leaders should be taught to cooperate.