Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History has many benefits and demerits. Knowing about the past has led to people embracing their past. Au contraire, it has also led to emergence of contemns among several human factions. However, the advantage of history surpass its disadvantage. Hence, knowing about the past, which subsumes important lessons, is important to make substantial decisions in the contemporary world.

To begin with, history helps human subjugate challenges. History, which is set by our progenitors and forebears, serve as a provenance of stimulation during our encounter with quandaries. Societies learn old gambits and stratagems used to face adversaries. People learn how to concoct elixirs for intricate maladies. Also, the knowledge of histocial settlements, such as Rome and Egypt, has contributed to saliently to the development of modern world. Without this knowledge, there is high chances of countries foundering tremendously while facing enigmas

Furthermore, by knowing about the past, we learn to elude past mistakes while facing imbroglios. History has taught us how shirk from gaffes of wars such World War I and II. Past wars, which are gravely perilous to the existence of biotas, has helped nations to prepare better for the future through the acquisition of hindsights about these wars. These records also serve to remind humans about the effect of wars. Through the acquisition of the past knowledge, humans has also learned how to avoid wherewithals that could lead massacre, anthrax or death.

However, some well-learned individuals might cavil that history propels ire. These people might base their argument on the fact that history, which brings back both negative and positive occurrences, might lead to resurgence of sedition. This might be true to some extent. However, this same history has helped us embrace our culture. Through the knowledge of past events, we are able to appreciate our ancestor’s artifacts. We also tend to value vestiges from the past.

In conclusion, the world cannot be fully developed without any iota of reference to the past. Through the knowledge of the past, humans have learnt to circumvent faux pas, value art and culture, and take on dilemmas. Therefore, to make important decision, it is pertinent for nations, organizations and individuals to advert back to history.