Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As humans, we grow and develop everyday. We learn and gain myriad experiences each day. While we make sane and safe decisions a lot of times, taking insane decisions is also imperative for out growth. The prompt links the aspect of our past and the decision making process that will decide our future. The claim that knowing the past cannot help one take decisions today does sound vague to me. I disagree with the statement due to few reasons. However, the claim might hold true in some situations.

Firstly, consider the evidence that we learn from the past. We have seen and been seeing it that we learn a lot from our past, and without which we might have never been where we are today. For example, consider the evolution of out transportation system. We have transformed from walk, to bullock to a 4 wheeler and now to flying across oceans. This development obviously involved many levels of decision making and risk taking. If we never had an ignition, or desire to develop from bare feet to bullocks, or if the modern generation only ignore the past, we would have never been able to reach Delhi in 2hrs from Hyderabad. This is a clear showcase of the example that learning from the past will support and bolster the decisions we take.

Further, it is pertinent to highlight the fact that we gain experience from the past that shall help us take better decisions today. For instance, we can observe a huge variation in the decisions taken by a child and a mother. While the child being so artless, would even be ready to play with fire. If the mother who has been living in this planet at least 20 year more than the child, wont tell the child that fire is dangerous, the child shall continue playing with the fire and may get himself lethally injured. This proves our point again that past experience does help us to take wise and informed decisions today.

However, there might be situations, where one’s past might hinder the decision making process today. There might few circumstances, where the decision maker is in distress or completely flummoxed due to the past. For example, consider a personal example where a person has failed in his love life. While he takes many number of years to get over the past, taking decision relation to the future relationship might be extremely challenging and stressful. The past of the person plays an important role here, and any wrong decision for the second time may lead to serious consequesnces. So, the past interferes with the decision making today.

Therefore, I disagree with the given statement that, Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. While the past hinder the decision making process, many a times the past teachs us and gives us experience that leads to faster and informed decision making. Decision making is a crucial process not only among the corporates or higher authorities but among everyone who lives on this planet and thus one must have a positive approch to the past and we must learn from it.