Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

For any country, laws are the pillars of democracy and the way in which these laws are defined goes a long way in speculating a country’s performance. The prompt argues that laws must cater to the circumstances, other factors and must not be rigid. I mostly disagree with the prompt due to the two reasons stated below. However, I do concede, in some specific situations, it makes sense to look at the bigger picture and have some flexibility while judging the person’s stance.

Firstly, laws that govern any country must be as rigid as possible irrespective of any circumstances. If the laws are firm and well-defined, there would be a fair rule for everyone and it would not favor a subsection of the society. If the laws were adaptive and flexible, it could very well be the case that people with the most power/wealth could break the law according to their needs. For example, India, during the rule of INC around 1980s, was in a pathetic state unlike today since some people unfairly exercised their power taking advantage of the flexible laws resulting in the murder of 100s of good souls who went against them. In addition, even in the present day, powerful people like Nirav Modi, Vijay Mallya laundered millions of money from public banks. Yet, they are living happily by taking advantage of the flexible laws. Therefore, it is very essential to make sure that laws are exercised fairly by making them rigid.

Secondly, in addition to powerful people taking advantage of the laws, it’s not uncommon for a common man to break the law in case they are not rigid. For example, the very existence of lawyers is to find loopholes in clauses, agreements and somehow make the law favorable to their clients. When such cases happen, people often start losing ethics which would adversely affect the country. Moreover, people are more prone to corruption since they can get away with anything in a democracy with flexible laws. But, if every act was defined for every circumstance under the law, people would think twice before committing any heinous crimes. So, it’s important for laws to be rigid that ensures that corruption is kept in check enabling smoother operation of a country.

However, in some specific circumstances, it makes sense to give a benefit of freedom and look at the broader picture. For example, if someone tries to abuse a woman, then it must be legal that she might, to some extent, take up extreme measures to protect herself. Likewise, in the case of a homicide, a person taking extreme measures to protect himself might be justified. Therefore, in some specific cases, it makes sense to view the current circumstances or the previous traits of the guilty person in question since accidents can happen.

In conclusion, a country must strive to make its laws as rigid as possible to ensure they are exercised fairly by various sections of the society. Also, depending on the case, it does make sense to look at other factors rather than literally using the law to judge a person’s stance. The above ideas when combined would give rise to a very powerful democracy, which promises a progressing country.