A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the important pillars of the nation. The syllabus that is designed for students is going to help them choose the career they want to pursue based on their interest. Therefore, it becomes important to design the curriculum in such a manner that includes majority of the topics from diverse field that will help students to see where their interest lies. If there is same curriculum for all the students till, they go to the college, it will prevent them from knowing what other fields are out there apart from the one given in their curriculum. There are many reasons as to why there should be a diverse curriculum rather than a standardized one for all the students, few of which I will be discussing in the further paragraphs.

When students are in school it is there first step into the real world. Where they meet different people, like their teachers, friends, etc. They study different subjects; they understand what their likings or disliking are. When there is a curriculum which is diverse in both academic and nonacademic parts it really helps students understand where their interest lies. For e.g., in terms of academics if the curriculum includes subject such as science, math's, history, geography, economics, political science, languages etc., it gives students a broad range of options to choose from. Brief introduction of these subjects in the school allows students to understand what each subject has to offer and what kind of study it involves. For someone who has interest in archeology and literature and want to pursue career in Arts will come to know the basics of the history subject in the school itself. For someone who is interested in universe and cosmos and want to study the birth of the universe will choose the field of astrophysics in college, but what helped that student understand that those are the fields of his/her interest? having basics of these in science subject in the school itself right? Likewise, there are many topics that has to offer majors and graduation level education, but one has to know whether or not they want to pursue those subjects further. And having a diverse curriculum will help students to make that choice. Students will have time till before entering into the college to decide which subject to choose.

Apart from Academics there is also a field of sports I believe should be included in curriculum. There are various kinds of sports, indoor sports such as chess, carrom, pool, etc., outdoor sports such as football, rugby, cricket, tennis, hockey, etc. Schools should try to include these sports in their curriculum in whatever capacity they can. Even if not all the students, there would be handful of students who will be interested in pursuing sports as their career. For many of the sports age 21-30 is the primal age for excelling in the field and if anyone wants to reach that level they should start early, between age 14-20. Also knowing your physical capabilities one can decide for themselves if they want to go in the military, navy, etc. And having physical training in your curriculum will help you do that.

Some may argue by saying that, including different topics prevents us from going into the depth of individual topics, time won't permit us if we have too many topics for that. This is true but school is very early for someone to go into the full depth of any topic, we have graduation and PhD programs for that. However, I feel there should be standardized approach on which topics to include and how much of it should be in the syllabus for the school level students.

In conclusion schools are the place where on comes face to face with lot of different things for the first time in their life and one such thing is academics; therefore, curriculum should be structured in such a way that includes diverse range of topics and subjects.