Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

One of the fundamental pillar of well-functioning and burgeoning society is the Law. There are always a set of rules that define the very essence of a country's legal code. These rules not only help in maintaining the law and order, but also play a crucial role in serving justice without being partial to anyone in any manner. The given prompt states that laws should be more accomodative and take consideration of circumstances, times and places. In my opinion, I believe this is wrong without a shadow of doubt. There is a reason why the laws are laws, because they are firm and rigid. And I am presenting the following 2 reasons to support my take.

Firstly, we need to understand that the very meaning of law is that it is same for all. Regardless of the person, their stature, gender, financial status, social importance or influence etc. Law does not discriminate amongst people or situations. Because of this quality, every person becomes equal in the eyes of law. If the laws are structured in such a way that they considers circumstances, times, and places; this creates plathora of possibilites and lots of doors for offenders to architect a way and connive through past law and impending justice. Let's consider a hypothetical yet plausible scenario; a person robs a bank and in the process, accidently injurs the guard. Clearly, this person is punishable as robbing a bank a severe crime. But if we start to 'modify' the law by considering the circumstances, say, for instance, that the robber needed money for his sick wife. Does it makes any sense to let the person go? Does it, in any way, mitigate the seriousness of his offence? Just because there is something wrong going on in a n individual personal life, doesn't give them right or any excuse to play with the law. But if we start making laws more flexible, the system becomes a complete mayhem. Every other offender will come up with their own sob story, or will engineer an excuse pertanining to time, situation or places that will fall under the considerations or relaxations of this new 'accomodative law'.

Further, making laws flexible will create a wide range of scenario and if we go about addressing all of them, the law system will become unnecessarily intricate and lengthy. Considering a country's law system, it is already quite descriptive, detailed and covers a wide array of scenario. But if we start to make amendments with adding provisions to circumstances, times and places; it will create the law system impractical and might proveless in a pragmatic way.

Sure, some would argue that there might be cases where the severity of a person offenses is not so severe and they were indeed a victim of their circumstances, time or place. There might be some collateral damage because of which the person ended being a perpetrator. I agree with such a notion, but isn't that the whole idea and process of 'prosecution' and not the law? As I have mentioned before, law is just, without and ifs or buts. If needed be, the consideration of circumstances, times and places fall under the category of prosecution or trial, but if we start to make the laws more flexible, it will wreak havoc on the judicial system and it won't be surprising if the crime rates skyrocket yet lesser convicts are getting charged and fould guilty.