In any profession - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the human civilization developes, there are always debates about the change of leadership, some argued about the time in power, and some argued about the way to give the power seat to the next one. And there are people seeing that those in power should step down after five years, regardless of any profession. And I mostly agree with the view in the following three reasons.

To begin, setting a time limit for everyone in power is a reasonable approach to keep the blood fresh. Everytime a new leader comes onto the stage, the strategy of the firm or the nation will go through a change, large or small, and thus the whole community will never stick to the old tradition and thus innovation would be likely to happen. Take the united nation for example, the leader of UN is actually everchanging, and the five countries’ candidate take the leadership in turns. This actually helps to average the power and gives change to the conference in the UN, thus more innovative proposal would be able to raise, and the world would likely to be better.

However, it should be acknowledged that in some professions, the longer those in power stay, the more experienced and skillful they will be, and thus the better they can manage the bigger picture. The world do not lack examples of long-time leader. For example, In China there is a world-famous technology company called Huawei, and its leader Ren Zhengfei, in our concept, is quite a old man. Considering his age, people may doubt whether he could take a breast the frontier of technology, and as it turn out, he actually did. Under his command, Huawei became the well-known global 5G provider and in Huawei’s telephone department, the engineers managed to design their own silicon chips. Ren’s ideas are so advance and he foresee that Chinese technology companies should have their own technology to stand on their own feet, so that they could resist those economic sanctions. So when the man in power stays long enough, he will actually form unique view that can greatly contribute to the whole team.

To define whether to give the one in power a limited time is actually complicated. It should never be a simple five years, and it should also never be no limit. To determine how long a president, a CEO, a leader can keep his title, this requires a sophisticated evaluation plan and also a good preparation of the next candidate.