Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When are leaders created? Do they sprout out from nowhere only when the need arises? Or have they always been leaders, but it only becomes evident when the need arises? While many people would argue that leaders are created on demand, some people are of the opinion that leaders have been created way before the opportunity. However, there are a lot of processes involved in creating a leader. These processes cannot be achieved only at the time there is a need for a leader. I would support my standpoint with the following instances.

An exemplar model of a leader who spent time preparing himself for a leadership position before it was necessary is Olusegun Obasanjo, a former president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Olusegun Obsanjo was sent to the jail few years before he became the president of the country. During his stay in the prison, he spent quality time making good friendships and alliances. These alliances proved useful and were instrumental to his ascension at the time he became the president. It would be a flaw to neglect the several years of hard work that preceded his reign as President. Olusegun Obasanjo, one of the eminent presidents of Nigeria brought an era of change utilising the diplomatic and leadership skills he acquired during his stay in the prison.

Similarly, another perfect example of a leader who had passed through years of preparation before ascending a leadership position is Okonjo Iweala, a former managing director of World bank and a former minister of finance of Nigeria. Okonjo Iweala bagged multiple degree in Ivy league schools which include Harvard and MIT with numerous years of experience in global organizations. All these years of preparation led to her nomination as a candidate for the director of the World Trade Organization. She did not become suitable for the position when it became necessary, however, she had been going rigorous trainings and self-development.

In conclusion, former President Olusegun Obasanjo and the renowned Okonjo Iweala are notable exanples of leaders that have spent years incubating in preparation to become leaders. Thus, like Rome, Leaders are not built in a day, but have spent several years preparing and undertaking smaller responsibilities in preparation for the main task.