The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

The modern way of life has seen many luxuries and conveniences that previous generations did not have. However, this does not prevent individuals from becoming strong and independent.

Becoming strong or independent is not related to how much luxuries a person had. If it was, then the poor would be strong or independent and the rich would not. Being independent and strong may depend to a small extent on how much hardships he/she had faced. However, the same hardships can also break a person and they could become weak. Likewise, the previous generations had less conveniences and therefore more hardships. But becoming strong depends to a large extent, on how they managed those hardships.

More luxuries can also mean more time to spare. This would in turn, ideally, mean that the spare time could be used for more useful pursuits. If people had less conveniences, they would spend a larger amount of time doing things that does not in any way contribute to the individual becoming stronger or independent. The washing machine has reduced the time needed to wash clothes. In the past people had to wash manually and this does not in any way make the individual stronger.

The social media has reduced the need for letters and we can communicate to people on the other side of the world very quickly. This has eliminated the need for letters and the time, energy/fuel required to deliver letters from one individual to another. This in turn makes us less dependent on people, fuel and conserves time and energy.

To conclude, luxuries and conveniences does not prevent us from becoming strong or independent.