The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every individual leads disparate lives in their lifetime, based on their family background, educational attainments, wealth condition, and the place they reside in. All of these, and several other internal and external factors determine the particular lifestyle a person has. Life of a rich and priviledged person is quite different than a person with poor and underpriviledged circumstances. Whether a person is strong and independent, at its worth, depends on the aforementioned internal and external factors, and there are some factors that can be daunting for the person to lead such a life. That being said, I mostly agree with this assertion that wealth and priviledge can create an obstacle for a person in becoming strong and independent, for two reasons. However, that may not be the case all the time, as in some people's lives, these luxuries and convenient elements of life can shape the person to be sound and logical that may provide the choice or opportunity to be self-dependent.

First of all, from childhood to adulthood, a person goes through various stages and has to depend on heterogenous elements in life that shape the perspectives of that individual. In the attempt to be strong-minded, a person needs to comprehend the lives of people who don't have the luxury and conveniences in life. If that person himself/herself is surrounded by luxury/priviledged products such as a car, expensive homes with modern appliances that are convenient for him/her, that person may not be able to understand his counterpart's struggle to use local transportation, and to live in an impoverished house with very little benefits. When a person has to struggle like this, it will create a motivation or strong will using his/her own efforts to change his/her circumstances which lead to an independent lifestyle in the future. For instance, the ex-governer of Bangladesh Bank, Mr. Atiur Rahman, was an orphan and lived with his uncle in a very impoverished state. From his childhood, he wanted to become someone with great merit which ultimately led him to work hard, study dilligently and get to the position he is in right now. This indicate that living with less luxury and convenience can be a good thing to augment the sheer will to reach a certain level of strength and independence.

Secondly, there are various cases where luxury and a convenient lifestyle have a negative effect on people who ultimately become overly dependent on these things that they cannot function without them. For instance, research demonstrates that many rich kids of billionaire or millionaire parents are spoilt, and arrogant. Their proximity to display their richness, being addicted to buying unnecessary luxury products and ability to depend on servants in the house prevents them from becoming self-dependent and even-tempered which hampers their sound judgment. This leads to a lot of teenagers to commit criminal activity which they think is not a big deal since they have rich and influential parents to rely on. For example, the spoilt son of a huge conglomerate running gold jwellery business in Bangladesh raped a girl, and got away without facing any severe punishment. This kind of scenario fuels the idea that their priviledged enough to avoid any negative repurcussions, indicating a lack of strong and independent mindset which is resulted from overly depending on luxuries and convenient lifestyle.

However, this assertion that priviledge creates an hindrance in making someone strong, may not apply to everyone. For instance, in the case of Elon Musk, who had the world's worth amount of luxury and convenient supply of support every step of the way from his childhood. Despite that, he has a strong perspective and independent lifestyle that impact the mainstream people around him in a good way that he can present his ideas on his own sheer will and make those ideas into reality with his own hardwork. Despite this kind of cases, it is imperative to comprehend the impact of richness and priviledges on general people in the shaping of a person's mindset and lifestyle. That being said the idea that this can prevent a person to become strong and independent holds water.