The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Luxuries and conveniences does not equate to extravagancy or prodigal lifestyle as it is widely attributed to, rather, it connotes comfortability and the ability to access resources limited to few. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt that luxuries enhance dependency and has no relevance in building strong and motivated individuals because of three reasons.

First and foremost, luxury is pivotal in enhancing comfortability due to the conveniences it renders individuals. An individual who is enjoying conveniences of contemporary life has access to being exposed to various opportunities like trainings and seminars that will foster independency and further enhance a strong personality. A lot of opportunities on capacity building are paid programs which will be readily accessible to such individual and facilitates his development.

More so, an affluent individual will always seek for means of maintain his current stand or better improve it. It is considered a point of duty to enhance their independency in order to further enjoy these conveniences. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook despite enjoying the luxury of life continues to build a stronger portfolio such as WhatsApp and thread which are leading social media platform. Hence, his luxury is a motivating factor to attain more and also provide him with the opportunity to utilize his luxurious life judiciously.

Perhaps, it might be argued that life of convenience and luxury can make an individual lose focus and find no zeal in achieving more, hence being dependent. However, it is important to note this is a reflection of one’s personality and not a result of convenient lifestyle or luxury. Some individuals who barely meets end needs who ought to be motivated to struggle more might as well fall into this case and have no zeal to be in dependent due to their personality of lacking self-motivation. Therefore, it is important to note that living a convenient lifestyle is not a hindrance to personal growth, rather it fosters capacity building and development.