The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times

Even in modern times, some historians still study history from a colonial perspective. They study the Eastern history as an exotic jewelry, interpreting Eastern lifestyles from a Western angle, and their approach is Orientalism. They study women's history as a minor form of human history. As Simone de Bouvoir writes, "woman are always the other". Therefore, to dismiss the condescending historical perspective that historians enforce on human beings in the past, the most important benefit of studying history should be to prevent people from thinking that all human beings, no matter past or present, are the same. Emphasizing the similarity of humanity throughout history will only cause people to impose even more bias on individuals from the past.

History should focus on faithfully documenting events from the past, instead of haphazardly enforcing interpretation and empathy, which eliminates the opportunity for people to learn from a new mindset and absorb lessons from history. History, unlike literature or cultural studies, is an objective study of events that have happened. Historians connect the events together into a catalog by logically deducing and making transitions. They try their best not to empathize too much with the people in the past, or they will blur the objective nature of the history study. Moreover, they will also impose unnecessary interpretations on people's decisions in the past. In this way, historians only repeat the logic of themselves over and over throughout history; they will never learn anything new from history. As a Chinese history philosopher once said, "history is a girl disposed to make up by others". If we let history motivate us to understand and empathize too much with people from the past, then history becomes only a fiction instead of a serious study.

The main benefit of the study of history should instead be letting scholars expand their horizon, getting in touch with ore aspects of the world and thus becoming a more understanding and tolerant person. History, rather than emphasizing the similarities among human beings, points out the infinitely different perspectives that humans have. History gives us the perspective of the tyrant Napolean, making us aware that such a tyrant can arise from a normal little boy who is simply pugnacious in minor disputes. History also gives us the example of Maria, who is a nun that devoted her entire life to helping people. Studying history doesn't require us to find out the similarities between ourselves and these historical figures. It asks us to expand our recognition of the world and understand that more changes than we can ever imagine will likely happen in the uncertain world. Therefore, we should be prepared to embrace more possibilities and tackle more challenges.

Admittedly, certain benefits exist if we know that we are not much different from people in the past. We will develop our empathetic skill and a more profound understanding of the humanity. However, this can dangerously lead us to misinterpreting people's behavior from the past. Also, although we may be able to avoid some mistakes by recognizing ourselves as similar figures in the past, we cannot learn significant lessons from history, as we only assume that accidents will happen in the permanently same logic.

In a word, we will not be able to truly learn and become flexible if we reckon people in the past to be similar with us through studying history. History teaches us a more diverse and colorful perspective. It warns us against presuming logic and tells us to embrace more.