Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Concerning the efficiency and proficiency of a worker, disparate opinions tend to bifurcate: one that weighs on harsh competition, while the other on collaboration and cooperation. Notwithstanding the availability of some contumacious arguments, it is never clear whether one factor champions over the other, unless vigilant consideration in terms of the context and fields is gone through. As in fields that focus on skill-oriented inquiries, a competitive environment is beneficial to participants, while in others, cooperativeness is more important. Acknowledging the fact that leaders of a group tend to endow much impact to such an environment, this essay will demonstrate the importance of contextual consideration in terms of discussing whether competition or collaboration should be emphasized.

Firstly, in parts in which the elements of discerning the ability or achievements are relatively objective and prominent, competition may allow a clarified perspective in developing the competence of a group. A representative example is the sports field in which requirements are universal, clearl, and visible. Recently, the Tokyo Olympics 2020 has attracted numerous sports fans and illuminated sports players in various fields who had conspicuous skills and proficiencies, winning medals and new records. One analysis discussed why there are so many sports fans and advocates of sports events, and discovered that such events do not have any ambivalence in displaying one’s proficiency in skills. That is, discernable elements of competition allow a fair and valid process, which contradicts other fields in which external factors such as cultural, financial, and social resources are the decisive elements. Thus, in such fields, leaders, coaches, or trainers shall be more reliable in playing their roles when encouraging the players to be competitive.

However, on the other hand, cooperative skills may be more desired when collectivity is crucial for acquiring achievements and when competition only causes more conflicts which hamper the proficiency of the given task. Especially, as most fields such as industries, large corporations, and projects are being done in groups, the ability of being collaborative can never be neglected. Take, for instance, a research project that is implemented to urbanize a rural town. Several experts in various fields would be assembled in order to achieve the shared goal. We may notice in such a case that leaders, who are obliged to make proper progress, will likely focus on scrutinizing cooperative skills of each player rather than putting them into a competitive atmosphere. Focusing on sound communication and high response ability, each player may be able to facilitate their specified skills and come out with unexpected results due to the joint venture. That is, leaders in team work shall be equipped with understanding of respective positions and conciliate the players in harmony.

In conclusion, it depends on the social context and perspectives of factors that determine the efficiency and success of fields of inquiry. That is, one may be aware of the specific elements that determine successful results and discern the factors that a leader has to pertain.