Many important discoveries or creations are accidental it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another

Discoveries and creations are purposely made when seeking to answer a question. The prompt urges that discoveries or creations are normally found on accident while seeking the answer to one question and we come across the answer to another. I mostly disagree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

To begin with, most discoveries are made when scientists explore for them based on data that suggest where something may be. For example, when in search for fuel sources such as gasoline, scientists use technology to reveal where the search should take place. A study from Yale University revealed that the technology used today can search up to 10,000 feet underneath the Earth's surface. This is imperative because fracking is a technique that should be used sparingly and is not something that should be done randomly without certainty about the whereabouts are for what they're looking for.

In addition, aside from discoveries that are made based purposefully, creations are also made with intention. The invention of the electric car was not made on accident. Nicholas Tesla invented the alternative fuel sourced vehicle in order to improve the sustainability of the gasoline powered vehicles we are accustomed to using. A study from Princeton University showed that the efficiency of electric vehicles has improved tremendously over the past decade and will soon become affordable to the general population. This is paramount to the longevity of our planet and further proves the notion that these creations are not something that is randomly stumbled upon on accident.

On the other hand, in contrast to my stance on the topic, one could argue that some of the most important discoveries in uncovering dinosaur fossils have been made while in search for other things such as types of rocks. A study from Stanford in 2019 revealed that the largest dinosaur fossil was discovered while in search for sapphire. However, these accidental findings don't occur nearly as often as the findings that occur when intentionally looking for the material. Thus, since majority of the findings take place when people intentionally search for them, we can be sure that most of the important findings are not accidental.

Nevertheless, there are no easy answers to this question because this issue is very complex. Although it is true that some discoveries and creations have been found on accident in the past, most of the answers to questions that we seek out are found purposefully for the reasons that I have described above.