Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be

Controversial conversations can be the most interesting and insightful debates. This prompt suggests that it is not useful to discuss a controversial topic with someone who has a contrasting view because very seldom do people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. I mostly disagree with the claim and will elaborate on three necessary points to defend my stance.

Firstly, controversial conversations don't have to be about trying to change someone's mind. These types of discussions can be very informative if both sides present facts about a controversial topic. For example, two people in a book club could have a discussion about the meaning of a mystery book they've read. One could argue that the book was about exploring the subconcious mind while the other could argue that the book had no meaning at all and was just a thriller story. Although their opinions contrast one another, if both sides present examples of why they believe their view to be true, it can be an interesting conversation. They don't have to try to convince one another that they must change their opinion on the meaning of the story to gain a different perspective on the topic.

Further, aside from having discussions about the meaning of a mystery book, two people with opposing views could talk about why their favorite baseball team is their favorite team. For example, one person's favorite baseball team is the rival of the other person's favorite baseball team. They could discuss why they think their team has a better chance of winning the championship this year over the rival team. They could present player's statistic records as evidence of why their team will dominate the other team this year. At the end of the discussion, they don't have to change each others' minds to have a good conversation. They can learn more about the rival team and even learn more about their own team's flaws.

Although, in contrast to my position, it is true that conversating about a controversial topic with someone who has a contrasting view can be disastrous. This could quickly turn ugly once personal insults start becoming involved over a topic that both sides feel strongly about. An example of this would be two people with opposing political beliefs talking about politics. Once the conversation deviates from talking about facts and turns into insulting one another, tensions will start to rise. However, if both sides are to remain calm and only talk about facts on certain political topics, it can become one of the most informative conversations they could have. Thus, it is imperative that both people remain respectful and stay on topic with the conversation.

Nevertheless, although it is true that talking about controversial topics like politics with people who hold opposing views can become an problematic, they can be very productive if both parties remain on topic about facts about the issue. Personally insulting one another for having an opposing view can destroy friendships; therefore, it is best to remain respectful and learn what the other side has to say.