Many problems cannot be solved by laws and legal system because moral behaviors cannot be legislated.

It is true that the many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and legal system. Some moral problems are hard to judge by laws for the reason that moral behaviors the attribute of the person himself so it sometimes deviates from legal system. However, the importance of laws should not be easily ignored.

Law, being one of the cornerstones of our society, has its great importance on balancing individual rights with our obligations and guarantees us a harmonious, and fair society. After all, Law serves a variety of functions. Laws against crimes, for example, help to maintain a peaceful, orderly, relatively stable society. It is judicious to say that without laws, people’s happiness and well-being cannot be guaranteed. Thus, laws are the most disinterested systems which maintain society’s functionality and balance. Without laws, our civilization will be a complete chaos and disorder for the reason that we cannot judge everything from our various moral standard. For instance, the movie The Purge takes place in the future, in which one certain day in a year, all crime is legal, thus people break the law unscrupulously and bear no consequences. Sky high rate of violence and murder leads to instability of society and pandemic panic in every individual. The movie shows how devastating the consequences are without law.

Nonetheless, Laws are intended to impose morality impinge upon our freedom of choice. People can always find a way to circumvent such laws, which ultimately give way to more lenient laws that acknowledge personal freedom of choice. We are gradually learning from history that legislating morality merely for morality’s sake simply does not work. For instance, some countries like China ban euthanasia because euthanasia which helps patient suicide may cause heavily moral conflicts and tremendous social impacts. There are heavily debate on whether euthanasia should be allowed or not. Some people believe that euthanasia may increase number of suicide people, but others assert that it is best way for people who suffer from incurable diseases to put a comma to their lives. Sadly, laws are inflexible and hard to respond quickly to this kind of new ideas. Consequently, people who are in great suffer cannot put an end to their lives, causing severe burdens to both family and society.

To sum up, it is undeniable that setting laws help our society to become better, however some ethics issues are not supposed to merely judge by laws. What’s more, only combining laws and moral concepts can we reach true harmony.