Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

Law, being one of the cornerstones of our society, has its great importance on balancing individual rights with our obligations and guarantees us a harmonious, and fair society. However, when some bad laws that have damaged people’s life and diminished the justice and that are enacted by governments, the laws should be disobeyed and resisted under any circumstance.

The major reason people are willing to obey laws is that this practice fits their own moral concept and they don’t want to bear the consequence for breaking laws. Since we are young, our education tells us that we should obey the law because we shall be punished for breaking it. After all, Law serves a variety of functions. Laws against crimes, for example, help to maintain a peaceful, orderly, relatively stable society. It is judicious to say that without laws, people’s happiness and well-being cannot be guaranteed. Thus we are responsible to obey the just laws in order to reach a harmony in society. That accounts for why When we gradually grow up, our moral concept guide us to obey laws, and by doing so, every individual’s right and interests will be protected. In addition, laws, being one of the most significant foundation of our society, having its authority which enacted by the governments shall not be easily disobeyed. Without laws, our civilization will be a complete chaos and disorder for the reason that we cannot judge everything from our various moral standard. For instance, the movie The Purge takes place in the future, in which one certain day in a year, all crime is legal, thus people break the law unscrupulously and bear no consequences. Sky high rate of violence and murder leads to instability of society and pandemic panic in every individual. The movie shows how devastating the consequences are without law. 这个时候《The Purge》可以上场了。

Nevertheless, some bad laws are doomed to be resisted and thrown away for the sake of civilization and mankind progress. After all, Laws are the product of human creativity and are therefore fallible. They may fail in their objective as a result of design defects or become outmoded. What is worse, They may also incur excessive costs or produce unacceptable side effects. Fortunately, laws, like every other human-made product, may be improved by amendments and they may be repealed when they found to be less than useful.For instance, on December 1, 1955. A women named Rosa Parks was arrested because she violated the laws of segregation, refused to give her seat to a white man on a bus. Shortly after her arrest, local civil rights activists began boycotting the Montgomery City bus system. The boycott lasted for 381 days, was led by Martin Luther King, Jr., and ultimately pushed the Supreme Court to rule the segregation law on the buses unconstitutional and the unjust law was changed permanently.

To sum up, every individual has a responsibility to obey just laws which uplifts humanity and disobey any unjust law that degrades humanity.