In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As mentioned In the article, the argument is assumed that by cleaning the Mason city’s river, the use of the river for water sport is sure to increase, and the city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities. The assumption has a good intend, but it, in itself, may not be logically well supported. Given the fact that the argument is lack of sufficient evidence, strong logos, hardly could it hold water to be cogent.

Firstly, the argument describes a survey which claims water sports are Mason City residents’ favorite recreational activities. The survey cited by the author is too vague to be informative. The claims are lacking information about the number of people surveyed and the number of respondents, it is impossible to access the validity of the results. For example, if 200 persons were surveyed but only 2 responded, the conclusion that...would be highly suspect. Because the argument offers no evidence that would rule out this kind of interpretations,) Until these questions are answered, the results of the survey are worthless as evidence for the conclusion.

The argument observes a correlation between the fact that government is about to clean the river and the claim that the use of the river for water sport is sure to increase, then concludes that the former is the cause of the latter. Even if water sports are city residents’ favorite recreational activities, the argument fails to rule out that possible that clean-up water project might not increase the use of the river for sports. The clean-up water project might take years to be effective, and the use of the river might not increase in the short term. Also, even the water quality could be improved in the short term, people in the Mason City might already get used to do water sports in other places, like gym, but in the river.

The argument suggests that the city government should devote money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities for the reason that the use of the river for water sports is sure to increase. Even if there might be a increase of the use of river for water sports, devoting budget is not necessary. The facilities may already be complete and do not require more budget to buy equipment. Even if the facilities are incomplete, other factors should be put into consideration. The money should be used for advertising, attracting more people to perform sports in the river or putting more efforts to increase and protect the water quality of the river.

For a final evaluation on this article, given insufficient data to solidify these and other hypotheses, a better investigation is therefore needed, which should conduct more investigation on more people and provide the number of sample in details. Also, the argument about cleaning river can cause increase of the user of river for water sports in not convincing and require more evidence. The suggestion mentioned in the end of the article might not be so effective and accurate.