Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Merely based on the unfounded assumption and dubious evidence, the publisher of the Newsbeat magazine draws the conclusions that Newsbeat magazine should take shift in its editorial policy. To substantiate the conclusion, she points out the evidence that political news on front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years. Furthermore, the publisher cites the result of a current survey to substantiate her recommendation. At the first glance, the argument may appear to be somewhat convincing, however, after carefully scrutinized, the argument lacks some essential concerns which should be addressed in the passage.

Firstly, the article describes the fact that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issue over the past three years. However, the publisher ignores that there has no casual correlations between political news and bad selling. In addition, many other factors could contribute to the bad selling, such as the bad outlook of the magazines, the content about the political news is not interesting enough to attract readers.

Secondly, the publisher suggests that magazines should focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance because of a recent survey of readers indicates that readers prefer economic issues than political ones. However, the poll cited by the article is too vague to be informative. The claim does not indicate who conducted the poll, who responded, or when, where and how the poll was conducted. (Lacking information about the number of people surveyed and the number of respondents, it is impossible to access the validity of the results. For example, if 200 persons were surveyed but only 2 responded, the conclusion that...would be highly suspect. Because the argument offers no evidence that would rule out this kind of interpretations,) Until these questions are answered, the results of the survey are worthless as evidence for the conclusion.

Thirdly, common sense informs us the magazine might not be capable to produce high quality articles about the economics after the shift. But the speaker might have been attempting to mislead us into believing that the Newsbeat magazine have such ability. Even if it is true that more readers prefer economic content than political ones. Unfortunately, this description could merely serve to strengthen one possibility but has failed to rule out other possibilities mentioned above.

To sum up, the passage fails to substantiate the claims that Newsbeat magazine need shift in its policy because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what argument maintains. To make the argument more convincing, A better investigation is therefore needed.