Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

The topic in question urges us to pick sides on what's more important for the foundation of education: logical reasoning or morality. Such an issue, brings to question a topic which is very relevant in today's world, and can't be merely classified into white and black views. While both the sides might have arguments for and against them, it is the gray area in which the debate takes place.

To begin with let's start by looking at how teaching based on logical reasoning can lead to a moral society. While logic forms the basis of many of our day to day lives, a vast majority of people remain logically unsound. Logic entails many forms, such as common sense, thinking critically and analytically, and developing acute sense of judgement. A logical person, if they have a bit of morality in them, can do wonders for the society, from solving complicated social issues, to developing ideas and methods and taking steps to make the lives of people easier. A society run mostly by logic minded people would face less problems due to better design and would be more adept to tackling new problems with innovative and efficient solutions. But, the above argument assumes a utopia, in which every person has a strong sense of right and wrong, uses here or her talents for the benefit of the society and doesn't use his or her logical capacity for merely his or her own profit. While, such a situation is desired, it's highly unlikely in the real world.

In the absence of a utopia, teaching morality to the society is of paramount importance. Morality, like logic, isn't as easily found in people, and it's dearth can lead to the downfall of a people. A moral and just society aims to provide for all it's citizens, and considers the moral aspect of whatever steps are taking to ensure the betterment of the society. A society which has it's foundations in the moral values instilled in people would face minimal cases to graft and crimes such as robbery and theft. Whereas in a society in which people are only concerned with logic, self fulfillment might become the goal of many individual, prompting them to commit many crimes for the sake of monetary gains. For this reasons we need morality and ethics to be taught in our educational institutions. It might be argued that in case morality becomes the foundation of education, many teachers would impose their own moral values, whether right or wrong, on the kids. But, such an argument can be countered by designing a proper curriculum, which the educators must follow in order to teach the right values to children. Such a curriculum would ensure that unjust values aren't imposed on children.

To conclude, the issue in question can't be seen in Black and White. Both the sides of the argument have their positives and negatives and the best approach would take into account the positives of both the sides