The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.
Although pursuing lower manufacturing and maintenance costs despite ethical
standards may be tempting, the long term costs of this path most likely demands
exponential funds to cover the backlash. Taking an ethical approach can save
financial resources throughout the years as a company builds reputation, abstains
from court cases and the necessity to pay people off, and benefits from positive
employee morale.
For a business to succeed and build long standing, consistent clients, trust needs
to be extant. A reputation founded on unethical approaches, leaves a company with
a ticking time bomb and a potential for an inconsistent clientele. If a company is
willing to invest in ethical strategies and standards, clients feel good about the
products and services they are purchasing and are likely to recommend the
company. People do not want their business, money, and resources to be handled
by someone who has no moral code. As long as the ethics are upheld and flourish,
clientele is most likely to remain consistent and that reputation will attract more
business based on the sturdy trust. Choosing ethical standards is choosing to invest
in a brazen reputation.
The backlash of unethical work may not surface until years down the road but can
have major fiscal repercussions. Going to court or paying off informed individuals
only adds to the cost of an unethical track. Though the price may seem minuscule
in the beginning and instant gratification high, the price only increases throughout
the years as a company tries to hide immoral standards, ultimately buying a flimsy
reputation.
Not only is the success of a business based on the trust of clients but also, the
employees. People are more likely to give their best work to causes they believe in.
If a worker knows they are contributing to an unjust cause, their work is less likely to
be as successful as it could be. The hope for every company is to get the most
benefit from their investments and employees and the work they do is an
investment. To maximize the investment of employees would be to keep a
trustworthy and content relationship.
Trust is the greatest component for long term success in the business world. People
are hesitant to commit their money, time, and name to a force that is not trustworthy.
There are many approaches to gaining trust. Through honesty and reputable
methods a company can build trust with the public. The veritable route is seemingly
more expensive because someone is less capable of cutting corners, but in
avoiding the later divulging of unethical routes and potential backlash, a company is
taking less risk and greater promise of success with an ethical approach.