The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these consideration shape your position.

Culture is an umbrella term which encompasses the social behavior and norms found in human societies, as well as the knowledge, beliefs, arts, laws, customs, capabilities, and habits of the individuals in these groups(Wikipedia).The Youths are the main and the largest part of any society, thus a vital driving force of the culture. Therefore, as the prompt suggests, one can strongly believe from the following three examples that, the most efficacious way to study any trendy culture is to analze the youth choices, styles or trends.

As mentioned in the above paragraph, youths being the largest part of the society, any entrepreneur should logically address the youth's choices for that particular brand that he is planing to sell. For example,When, Mark Zukerberg first invented Facebook application, he named it 'The Facebook'. But after studying the market,and when he got a suggestion from one of the famous 'young' enterpreneurs, to change the name to something more casual. He eventually changed it to 'Facebook' just to make it sound 'cool' to the 'youngsters'. Therefore, having the knowledge of youth's choices helped him to make his application more famous and eventually profitable.

Similarly, having knowledge of the fasion trends followed by the young generation of any part of the world can help any fashion industries to double the profit of their company. For instance, 'Myntra', Bengaluru-based (Karnataka, India), is an Indian fasion E-commerece company founded in 2007. It was established by Mukesh Bansal along with Ashutosh Lawania and Vineet Saxena, now acquired by flipkart in May of 2014. The company initially used to sell personalized products, such as t-shirts, cups, pads, etc. But eventually started to expand its root in fashion industries which helped it to double the revenue and became a hit. Myntra, according to the sources, stressed upon the 'youth trend' in India. They imports and sells the clothings that are liked by the youth of the country, which attracted the major population and made it instantly famous. Thus, to succeed in business, it has become a trend to first study the youth culture.

Many student Migrates to other countries like united States of America, United Kingdom, Germany, etc to acquire higher degrees from famous universities.

A survey has stated that whenever students targets a country for their furthur education, they start watching the series, movies or documentries of that specific country. This helps them to understand the environment and culture of the society. For instance, series like Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Or short movies posted by the students of the university etc, helped them to mold themselves according to their trend. Here, nobody tries to understand the elderly-society norms because the main part of the countries is young generation.

"The Youth of today are the leaders of tomorrow"-Nelson Mandela.The so-called 'trend' is dynamic as we can depict from this quote. Many may contradict with the passage saying society comprises of 'both' young as well as elderly generation. But nobody can deny that the main or largest part or the driving force of any culture are 'youngsters'.Therefore in conclusion, it is important to study young trends to effectively understand the contemporary culture.